Social Work Anniversary Celebrations

The year commenced with a celebration to mark the 75th year of social work education at the University of Melbourne, with a Reception hosted by the Governor of Victoria ­ Her Excellency the Hon Linda Dessau AM, at Government House on Monday 8th February.

L - R Her Excellency the Hon Linda Dessau AM; Professor Dorothy Scott (with Hyslop Medal), and Professor Marie Connolly, Head of Department of Social Work

Guests included Professor Margaret Shield, Provost of the University of Melbourne and also Professor Mark Hargreaves, Dean of the Faulty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences.

The inaugural Hyslop Medal – named after the first Head of Social Work – was awarded to Professor Dorothy Scott, in recognition of her outstanding contribution to social work and in particular the field of child and family welfare.