Meet Our Researchers

Profile picture of Louise Harms

Prof Louise Harms

Chair and Head, Department of Social Work, and Deputy Head, School of Health Sciences | Research interests include health, mental health and disability
louisekh@unimelb.edu.au
Profile picture of Shawana Andrews

A/Prof Shawana Andrews

Director and Associate Professor - Poche
shawanaa@unimelb.edu.au
Profile picture of Jennifer Davidson

Dr Jennifer Davidson

Course Coordinator, MSW | Research areas include navigating complex service systems, disability and the NDIS, social work in the legal and justice systems and the impact of social policy on health and wellbeing
jennifer.davidson@unimelb.edu.au
Profile picture of David Denborough

Dr David Denborough

Senior Lecturer | Involved in Narrative Practice Research innovations (narrative therapy and community work in research) and collaborations with Insider/Peer researchers and First Nations researchers
david.denborough@unimelb.edu.au
Profile picture of Kristin Diemer

A/Prof Kristin Diemer

Associate Professor | kNOwVAWdata; safe, ethical and inclusive measurement of violence against women and children with a focus in Asia and the Pacific
k.diemer@unimelb.edu.au
Profile picture of David Gallant

Dr David Gallant

Lecturer | Research areas include family violence, sport development, custodial settings, and Indigenous communities
david.gallant@unimelb.edu.au
Profile picture of Ralph Hampson

A/Prof Ralph Hampson

Associate Professor | Research areas include health, ageing and community services
ralph.hampson@unimelb.edu.au
Profile picture of Lyndal Hickey

Dr Lyndal Hickey

Research Fellow | Research areas include policy, program and practice implementation to improve the lives of people living with disability, and their families in their communities
hickeyl@unimelb.edu.au
Profile picture of Nicole Hill

Dr Nicole Hill

Senior Lecturer - Social Work Field Education
hilln@unimelb.edu.au
Profile picture of Cathy Humphreys

Prof Cathy Humphreys

Professor | Dedicated to optimising the health of all family members where there is domestic and family violence
cathy.humphreys@unimelb.edu.au
Profile picture of Lynette Joubert

Prof Lynette Joubert

Professor - Direct Practice | Research areas include clarifying, measuring and evaluating the outcomes of social interventions in health and mental health, focusing on the contribution of formal and informal social network factors
ljoubert@unimelb.edu.au
Profile picture of Margaret Kertesz

Dr Margaret Kertesz

Post Doctoral Research Fellow | Research Interests include intervention responses at the intersections between child abuse, domestic violence, mental health and problematic substance use, approaches that promote recovery post-violence and interventions for women who use force in the context of family violence
mkertesz@unimelb.edu.au
Profile picture of Lauren Kosta

Dr Lauren Kosta

Lecturer | Research areas include family adaptation in circumstances of adversity such as those which bring families into health settings as well as post-disaster recovery contexts
lauren.kosta@unimelb.edu.au
Profile picture of Gemma McKibbin

Dr Gemma McKibbin

Research fellow | Specialises in interviews with children and young people about sensitive issues like child sexual abuse and family violence. Interested in research collaborations that benefit the health and social lives of children and young people in Australia and across the globe
gemma.mckibbin@unimelb.edu.au
Profile picture of David Rose

A/Prof David Rose

Associate Professor in Social Work, Director of Learning and Teaching, MSHS | Research areas include impact of criminal justice system, trauma and mental health, alcohol and other drugs, domestic & family violence, children and families across borders and health/mental health in forensic systems
drose@unimelb.edu.au
Profile picture of Kath Sellick

Dr Kath Sellick

Lecturer | Experienced in qualitative and mixed methods research with a particular focus on co-production. Her areas of research include trauma-informed care, mental health, disability, and diversity and inclusion
kathryn.sellick@unimelb.edu.au
Profile picture of Anneliese Spiteri-Staines

Dr Anneliese Spiteri-Staines

Research Fellow | Areas of research include mental health, women’s health, and family violence. Experiences and interests in quantitative and qualitative research, especially in evaluation of population health programs
spiteri@unimelb.edu.au
Profile picture of Sarah Wise

A/Prof Sarah Wise

Associate Professor | Research areas include Child Protection during the perinatal period, Out-of-Home Care and human service system governance and change
sarah.wise@unimelb.edu.au
Profile picture of Graham Brewster

Mr Graham Brewster

Senior Research Fellow - Child and Family Welfare
graham.brewster@unimelb.edu.au
Profile picture of Janet Farrow

Janet Farrow

jfarrow@unimelb.edu.au
Profile picture of Teresa Donegan

Teresa Donegan

Graduate Researcher | Areas of research include mindfulness and ageing. Experiences in aged and disability services, across local & state governments and not for profit organisations
teresa.donegan@unimelb.edu.au
Profile picture of Bronwyn McFadyen

Bronwyn McFadyen

Director of Social Work Field Education
bronwyn.mcfadyen@unimelb.edu.au
Profile picture of Ellen Pittman

Ellen Pittman

Research Fellow in Child Welfare
ellen.pittman@unimelb.edu.au
Profile picture of Jasmin Isobe

Jasmin Isobe

Researcher | Areas of research include language use and discourse for social change, violence against women, and domestic and family violence intersections with substance use and mental health. Experience in qualitative and mixed methods research, knowledge translation and practice improvement.
isobe.j@unimelb.edu.au
Profile picture of Larissa Fogden

Larissa Fogden

Lecturer | she/her | Research interests are centred around infants, children and young people living with and navigating the ongoing impacts of domestic, family and sexual violence and other traumatic experiences.
larissa.fogden@unimelb.edu.au