Victorian Tall Poppy of the Year Award

Congratulations to the Department's Dr Lauren Ayton who received the Victorian Tall Poppy of the Year award. The Tall Poppy Campaign recognises the achievements of Australian scientists through the prestigious annual Young Tall Poppy Science Awards and the biennial CSL Florey Medal.

Photo of Lauren Ayton with award with Dr Meacham and Professor Hogarth

Created in 1998 by the Australian Institute of Policy and Science (AIPS), the Tall Poppy Campaign aims to recognise and celebrate Australian intellectual and scientific excellence and to encourage younger Australians to follow in the footsteps of our outstanding achievers. The Tall Poppy Campaign has made significant achievements towards building a more publicly engaged scientific leadership in Australia.

Pictured above alongside Dr Ayton are Dr Sarah Meacham (Board Member (AIPS), former Tall Poppy, and immediate past chair of the Victorian Tall Poppy Selection Panel) and Professor Mark Hogarth (Burnet Senior Principal Research Fellow, The Macfarlane Burnet Institute for Medical Research and Public Health Ltd and Chair of the Victorian Tall Poppy Selection Panel).