Neuroscience of Speech

  • Joint Heads of Research Group

    Professor Angela Morgan | Associate Professor Adam Vogel
    T: + 61 3 834 42169 (AM) | +61 3 903 55334 (AV)
    Location: Level 02, 550 Swanston Street, Carlton, Parkville (AM & AV))
    W: Personal web page

Research Overview

The Neuroscience of Speech (NEUS) research group undertakes discovery, clinical and translational research into communication and swallowing deficits in adults and children.

NEUS offers two research internships each summer. Please visit the Summer Internship page to your right under Research Projects for further information.


Associate Professor Adam Vogel PhD
Neuroscience of Speech Director (Adult Stream)
National Health & Medical Research Council Career Development Fellow
Consultant Speech Pathologist, Friedreich Ataxia Clinic & Eastern Cognitive Disorders Clinic, Melbourne

Professor Angela Morgan PhD
Neuroscience of Speech Director (Paediatric Stream)
Director of Research and Teaching in Speech Pathology, The University of Melbourne

Dr Jade Cartwright PhD
Lecturer in Speech Pathology, The University of Melbourne
Co-Lead, Communication in Dementia

Dr Elaina Kefalianos PhD
Lecturer in Speech Pathology, The University of Melbourne
Section Lead, Developmental Stuttering

  • Dr Georgie Columbus PhD, Post-doc
  • Dr Cristina Mei PhD, Post-doc
  • Dr Manze Mok PhD, Research Officer
  • Dr Kristin Rosen PhD, Senior Research Fellow

Research Higher Degree Students

  • Danielle Aldridge, PhD Candidate (UQ)
  • Jessica Boyce, PhD Candidate
  • Amanda Brignell, PhD Candidate
  • Jessica Chan, PhD Candidate
  • Laura Dargan, Honours Candidate
  • Megan Keage, PhD Candidate
  • Lauren Pigdon, DPsych Candidate (Monash)
  • Matthew Poole, PhD Candidate
  • Sandra Rojas, PhD Candidate
  • Katherine Sanchez, PhD Candidate
  • Jennifer Snowball, Honours Candidate
  • Johanna Tan, PhD Candidate
  • Samantha Turner, PhD Candidate

Honorary Members

  • Professor Barbara Dodd PhD (Honorary Emeritus Professor), The University of Melbourne
  • Mr Malcolm Baxter, MBBS FRACS (ENT surgeon, Monash Medical Centre, Australia)
  • Associate Professor Estella Ma PhD (Honorary Senior Fellow), The University of Hong Kong
  • Dr Elizabeth Murray PhD, Research Officer
  • Dr Amanda Scott PhD (Senior Research Fellow), Alfred Hospital, Australia



  • Monash University, Australia
  • Florey Neuroscience Institutes, Australia
  • Murdoch Childrens Research Institute, Australia
  • The University of Sydney, Australia
  • Bionics Institute of Australia
  • Royal Melbourne Hospital, Australia
  • Cogstate, Melbourne & New Haven USA
  • The University of Queensland, AustraliaThe University of South Australia
  • University of Hong Kong, China


  • Karolinksa Institute, Sweden
  • Oxford University, UK
  • Hertie Institute of Clinical Brain Research, Tubingen, Germany
  • Istituto Superiore di Sanità, Rome Italy
  • Institute of Child Health, University College London, UK
  • Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics, Netherlands
  • Radboud University Medical Centre, Netherlands
  • University of Manchester, UK
  • University of Newcastle, UK


  • Harvard University
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Bloomberg University
  • Northwestern University
  • Centro para la Investigación y Rehabilitación de las Ataxias, Holguin, Cuba


  • ARC
  • NIH
  • Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia
  • Hearing Cooperative Research Centre
  • University of Melbourne
  • Murdoch Childrens Research Institute
  • Collier Foundation
  • Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
  • March of Dimes USA